Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drlovemclean

Houseplant or not?

drlovemclean
11 years ago

I've had this plant for over a year and it always looks sickly. I've placed it inside, outside, in sun, out of the sun, ect. and can't seem to find place where is can thrive. Is it a houseplant and how do I care for it? TIA!

Comments (10)

• raelynn09
    11 years ago

What you have is some sort of philodendron (hederaceum maybe? I'm not a philo pro... yet )

Easy plant to care for, It can tolerate low light, but that doesn't mean It'll thrive in low light. I would keep it near a window, allowing maybe 2 to 4 hours of sun a day, if that. IME philodendrons thrive the most when you pay the least attention to them! The yellowing leaves may be nutrient deficiency, but I'm almost certain it may need a repotting into a well draining soil. Dense and super water retentive soils are the number-one killer of houseplants!

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

Totally agree about needing to repot (remove all of the old soil, trim circling or too-long roots.) This plant's not too picky about light, but can't live indefinitely in really bad soil. It looks wilty dry.

It also looks like that may be a plastic pot inside a decorative pot without a hole in the bottom. If so, never let water sit in the bottom of the pot. Whenever it's time to water, take the plastic pot out, to a sink or shower, and soak it until water runs out of the hole in the bottom. When it's stopped dripping, (at least an hour,) it can go back in the decorative pot. Then wait until it feels very lightweight again to water.

There may also be spider mites on the back of the leaves. Do you see any spider webbing? Anything else that looks like it's not part of the plant?

No reason not to trim the brown parts off, if you're interested. Those spots could be sunburn if its' visit outside was sudden (from being inside to having the sun beat directly on it outside.) Those leaves can't heal.

• dellis326 (Danny)