Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peter_poet

Low-e Windows Effect on Plants

peter_poet
14 years ago

We have lots of house plants. We wish to install energy efficient windows--i.e., "low-e windows"--in our living room, but have heard they could effect the ability of our plants to thrive.

Any advice? Local nurseries and window companies are IGNORANT re. this vital question.

Thanks.

Peter

Comments (47)

• nandina
    14 years ago

Peter, I asked the same question two years ago on this Forum and was assured that Low-e glass had no effect on plant growth. I was considering installing such a greenhouse window to replace one in the kitchen flooded with brilliant sun six hours a day. This would allow me to grow tender herbs during the winter plus geraniums, etc. Just a quick note to say that I am a retired pro able to grow and propagate most any plant.

My observations on the subject:
    1. Basil and other tender herbs refused to grow. Died.

2. Flowering plants such as geraniums put into the window in full bud did bloom and then refused to set more flower buds, gradually weakened and were removed.

3. A 4' Norfolk pine placed in the window greenhouse two years ago is alive, healthy and has not shown any sign of new growth.

4. Non-blooming tropical/semi tropical foliage plants that require indirect light in the outside world seem to remain healthy with very little signs of growth. My one exception has been Crocodile Fern (Microsorum musifolium) which thrives in almost any situation.

5. Plants are happier in clay pots, not plastic.