Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
dishwashing liquid added to plant water

Posted by eileen_plants z6 NY (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 25, 06 at 18:33

I am reading a houseplants book by Jerry Baker who recommends adding 1 ounce dishwashing liquid per gallon to water used for watering plants. This is to allow the soil to absorb the water right down to the roots. Has anyone done this? It sounds strange to me, but I'm new to plant care. Does it work?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: dish washing liquid added to plant water

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a MI (My Page) on
    Tue, Jul 25, 06 at 19:04

Well, surfactants (detergents) make water wetter & allow it to "seep" or flow into all the tiny places much more readily. It also tends to negate the effect of how Fe-containing molecules form on organic surfaces, which turns soils hydrophobic (water-repellent) as they dry to below about 30% moisture content.

Maybe it's just me, but I think that a 1:128 solution of H2O:detergent sounds pretty concentrated for use as either a topical or root drench. There are organic compounds in roots (oils eg) that are readily broken down by detergents, which I cannot imagine to be a good thing. A better strategy is to use a porous soil & water frequently enough to prevent a drop below 30% soil moisture and forgo the detergent.

Al

o
RE: dishwashing liquid added to plant water

Thanks, Al, I will take your advice...sounds a lot safer, not to mention saner!!

o

Eileen,
I use dish detergent in my plant water all the time, as well as grapefruit seed extract, and my plants are very healthy and happy. In fact, a couple months ago when I was still in Colorado and we were having a drought, a bunch of people (including me) were squirting dish soap on lawns before watering them so the water would penetrate the roots more efficiently. I had the greenest grass on the block!