Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fun_gi

Another nursery schefflera

fun-gi
12 years ago

I've been eyeing this(these) tree(S) for a couple of years at the local nursery, and I finally decided to try to make room for it on my patio. As I said in another post, I like scheffleras, and since I have limited full sun areas (I live in an apartment) the fact they will tolerate lower light may come in handy in the future.

As in the other post I would love anyone's personal opinions on the tree and also your ideas for its future.

The pictures were taken right when I got it home, and I have not done anything to it other than removing hitchhiker plants and leaf litter. I may try to save a few of the hackberry saplings that are still in the pot, but if I can't get enough of the roots out when it comes time to bare root the scheff then oh well. For reference the pot is 15" tall and about 17 1/2" inside diameter at the top.

{{gwi:95542}}

{{gwi:95543}}

{{gwi:95543}}

{{gwi:95544}}

It does have a few mealy bugs, so I will keep it away from my other plants until they are taken care of. As far as re-potting, what are opinions on that this late in the year? It is not the worst root bound I have seen, but their is definitely not much more room for new root growth. I could easily leave it in this pot until next year if necessary though. Defoliating and foliage pruning are taken quite well around now (maybe best a little earlier), but I'm not sure about root pruning.

{{gwi:95545}}

I'm sorry the root ball pic is a little blurry, I had to have my daughter take it while I held the tree. I would take another, but my camera's battery is charging.

Any input would be appreciated, and again thank you for your time and knowledge.

Now, I'm off to remove yellowing leaves while I await responses. :)

Billy

Comments (18)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago