Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raelynn09

Philo assistance requested (ID and cutting questions?)

raelynn09
11 years ago

I gave haircuts to a few of the hanging baskets at work a few weeks ago, and took the cuttings home with me. I'm fairly new to houseplants, especially propagation. So I stuck the babies in water in a fairly light location, and they seem to be surviving, and they have some new roots.

However, I have no idea how long to leave them in water. I'm planning on using Al's mix, as it seems to work wonderfully for my other houseplants (a diffenbachia, snakeplant, fittonia, and a few spiderplants).

Are they doing alright? They get indirect light from the west, maybe an hour or so of direct sun right before sunset. (the darn trees at my apartment complex block most my sun!)

Are they okay length to plant? Most of them are between 8" and 14"

Oh, and what kind of Philodendron are they? They're a bright green, with some odd pinkish/red. heart shaped leaves, about 1" - 2".

Any tips and tricks?

Thanks to you all in advance. I've been browsing the forums for months now. There's a lot of good info on here, and everyone always seems so helpful. :)

{{gwi:96047}}

Comments (6)

• dellis326 (Danny)
    11 years ago

Philodendron scandens

If they are starting to root, pot them up now.

Or you can just leave them in water but if you do they can be slow to adapt back to soil once it grows "water roots" P. scandens do fine permanently grown in water though.

• raelynn09
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks! I have maybe 15-20 vines, I might just pot up most of them, and leave a few in the water. i think it'd be neat to compare how they grow. :)

How many can/should I pot together, and what size pot? Since they don't actually have a root ball, i don't know how to choose a pot size.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago