Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need Houseplant Identification

Posted by Zen131 Seattle, WA (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 19, 11 at 21:24

Hi, I'm new to houseplants and this forum. I recently purchased a plant did not have an identification marker. I'd really like to know what it is so that I can care for it properly. The link to the photo is below--any info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
~Zen

Here is a link that might be useful: My Mystery Plant

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need Houseplant Identification

It's one of the Fittonias, aka 'nerve plant'. I don't remember the species name, but you can google that pretty easily.

o

Hi Zen & welcome,

Yes, that is a Fittonia, a lower light plant that likes high humidity. I've grown it successfully in a bathroom window behind frosted glass or in a terrarium kept on the edge of a window. I find them very pretty.

When I moved into this apartment (23 yrs. ago) I carried in my arms a large terrarium of this very Fittonia. The moving driver offered me money for it. I had it for some time, very nice plants.

Other than wanting the high humidity they're pretty carefree. They do benefit from being pinched back frequently (after 2nd or 3rd pair of leaves). Enjoy.

o

Zen, Welcome to GardenWeb.

Your plant is Fittonia argyoneura...common name, Silver Nerve Plant.

Although Fittonias are sometimes grown as a house plants, they're mainly sold as outdoor, annual, Accent Plants and ground covers.

Since you mentioned you were new growing house plants, 'and I wish you the best of luck,' Fittonia's are somewhat fussy.

As Karen stated, she grew hers in a terrarium.

Fittonias are humidity-lovers, but fresh air is important, too. If you decide to place yours in a terrarium, ventilation is needed. Fresh air. Soil should be kept moderately moist, but not soggy. Pinch the top two to four leaves every other month so it doesn't get spindly.