Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need suggestions with what I have. Gritty, 15-5-15 Cal-Mag. Hydro

Posted by Timmay_8 6a (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 13, 12 at 21:38

I just started learning about gardening a few months ago. I started with only knowing a little about what are bad weeds, and how to cut grass. That's it! lol Well, I have read at least 400 hours of posts since then. I was trying not to ask any questions because I thought that any question or scenario has already been written about and it's just a matter of more searching. Well, school is getting overwhelming and I'm short on time with all my house projects and stuff.... so...on to my first post.

I finally got all the ingredients for the Al's/Tapla's gritty mix. I have enough 1/16-1/4 sifted pine bark (I spent way too much time sifting bags of pine mulch) and turface to make whatever I can with the 50lbs of Gran-i-grit. I have 50lbs of garden lime (looks powdered), 50lbs of gypsum, a slew of pellet fertilizers, and more. I live in St. Louis, and based on what I read (and not my actual analysis) my alkalinity is around 110-150, and my pH is around 10 to 10.2. Here's some of my sources about the water:
http://www.amwater.com/files/MO_6010716_CCR.pdf
http://www.amwater.com/files/MO_6010716_TWQ.pdf
and a few posts I've read from other St. Louis natives.