Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
louisette_gw

Is my aloe plant dying? HELP!

Louisette
18 years ago

Hi,

I'm VERY new to growing and I think I am killing my aloe vera plant!! :( Help!

Some parts of the plant are brown and look like they are dying! Should I cut these off? I recently re-potted the plant (and all of the little plants around it) and it's not helping. Does the plant required sunlight? Direct sunlight? All day, or just part of the day? How many times a month do I need to water the plant?

You help is needed!!!!! :(

Comments (30)

• foxykitten350234
    18 years ago

Louisette- Do you have your Aloe in a plastic, terracotta or glazed pot? Where is your Aloe now (ei outside/inside)? What kind of light is it getting? How often have you been watering it? Are the brown parts dry and crispy or mushy? Are the healthy leaves really plump or thin?

I keep my Aloe in bright indirect light outside during the summer. My neighbor puts his in full sun and allows it to get a tan so to speak. The only thing you definately should not do is keep your plant in to low of light.

Foxy.

• Louisette
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Foxy,
    thanks for your response.
    Right now I have my plant in low light because I thought that it was maybe getting too much sun (see, what a dummy I am).Sigh. I will change that today. My plant is in a glazed pot, I have been watering them about once a week. The soil is moist today. The brown parts are brown and soggy. The healthy parts and nice, big and plump. I'm afraid the brown parts with disease the green parts and I'll completely lose the plant.
    I also have a small plant of "baby" aloes. Some of those are brown and some are green.

• foxykitten350234
    18 years ago

Oops, I forgot to mention- don't water your Aloe right after repotting. I would suggest you wait about a week before watering again.

Foxy.

• johnh_or
    18 years ago

Here's some more info from the C&S FAQ.