Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I have no idea what this is! Can you help?

Posted by granea TN 7 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 24, 11 at 11:53

Hi!

I am a high school teacher, and this year when we had our teacher in-service days, I discovered that a teacher who had retired from our school had left behind all of her houseplants!

One is a shamrock, and I'm good on that one. One is some kind of palm (or palm-like plant): green leaves with red-violet undersides.

But this last one has me stumped! Can anyone tell ms what this is?
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-bQjUDTz4iGw/TlUd-RlMThI/AAAAAAAAACM/Z3h5Ig4pW5U/s1600/classroom3.JPG

I would like to be taking care of it properly! Thank you for any help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I have no idea what this is! Can you help?

Hi,

It's a Wandering Jew (Tradescantia) which needs considerably more light than it's been getting.

o

Granea...Like Karen says, your plant is Tradescantia, but I disagree about it being Wandering Jew. Yours is Tradescantia Sillamontana, common name White Gossamer or White Velvet.

Are the leaves somewhat fuzzy? Toni

o

I was wondering if it might not be a very sad Callisia repens, White Inch plant. Or maybe, Tradescantia fluminensis.

It doesn't 'look' fuzzy to me, but who knows?

o

HopefulAuthor,

Yes, the leaves are fuzzy, though the shape of them seems a bit rounder than the ones in the picture of sillamontana. Also, there is only one leaf or so per segment of the creeper/runner/vine.

I don't know how long the other teacher had it in that pot, but the runners are quite long (they're tucked into the pot at the moment because they keep growing across the desk), and the ones in the pot (near the root) are slightly reddish and don't look too happy, but I'm not sure if its okay to cut it to the root and repot or not.

o

Just pinch 'em off w/ your fingers & stick them back in the parent plant.