Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to Plants, Need Help -- Dracaena, Pothos, Pilea

Posted by Nieting none (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 13:06

Hi everyone,

I'm new to plants... I've previously dabbled with outdoor plants, and this time I thought it might be nice to have indoor plants instead.

Problems I've noticed that I need some help with.

Dracaena -- Originally I had it near the window. I noticed that the leaves were becoming brown on the tips, so I moved it to the top of my bookcase. After about a week, I noticed it was losing its colour and turning yellow... so I moved it back by the window and it seems to be recovering. It gets maybe 1-2 hours of direct sunshine, as the window is facing West. Is it normal for the tips to be turning brown? I think the problem may be the dryness in the air, so I am trying to mist it every day. I water it once a week.

Pothos -- One plant was originally deep green. Now it's turning marble like the other plant. Also, the stems of both plants show dark lines. Overwatering? Underwatering? I water them about every five days, but I make certain that the pots drain and that the roots aren't sitting in water.

Pilea -- I've put it in the corner by the window. Some of the leaves are turning brown/black/white! I water it every 5 days.

(I also have a fern and its tips are turning brown too.)

This post was edited by Nieting on Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 13:12

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to Plants, Need Help -- Dracaena, Pothos, Pilea

I am going to post a few photos, so you can get a sense of where they are placed... This is on top of my bookcase, maybe four feet up, and they are directly facing the West window. (But I'm five floors up so they don't receive any direct sunshine.)

o

Here you can see where the pilea leaves are turning brown.

And in the top left of the picture, you can see where the leaf is turning white.

o

>> Pothos -- [...] the stems of both plants show dark lines.