Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xuan1009

Need help for my potted gerbera urgently!!

Xuan1009
9 years ago

Hi Everyone, I am new to this site and I'm totally new to keeping plants too, so please bear with me.
My potted gerbera seems dying and I am hoping some of the experts around here could help me to save it back to life.

I got it about 2 months ago, it was so lively with lots of nice foliage like the attached picture on the right. It was doing fine till one time I left for somewhere and nobody to water it for about 1 week, when I came back it's all wilted and some of the leaves are completely yellow while some only had yellow rims, I watered it immediately and it seems came back to life the next day. but then after a week, it began to look a bit yellow and now it's like the attached picture on the left.

I've been water it regularly as before and I have a toothpick stick into the soil next to the root so I check if it's dry or not. I put it next to a window that has a lot of sun in the morning, I also tried to move it to a place with some shade, but it didn't seem to be helpful. Please help me to keep it alive and remain lively. Advice are very much appreciated. Thank you so much in advance!

Comments (5)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

GDs are drought-resistant, but not drought-proof. Plants are organisms that shed parts (usually leaves first) as a survival mechanism in times of drought. Part of the shedding process includes the formation of what's called an abscission zone that occurs where leaves are attached to stems, branches, crowns ..... This is an irreversible process because the abscission zone is formed by a corky layer that effectively separates the leaf from it's water and nutrient supply, which of course causes it to dry up. On some plants, the dead foliage is persistent, and on others it falls off on its own.