Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hallgal2

When to bring Christmas cactus back inside?

hallgal2
16 years ago

I live in upstate NY, and the evenings are already starting to cool down. This is my first year putting my Christmas cactus outside, and I'm not sure when I need to bring it in.

I don't have alot of shade around my house, so I had to hide it behind a huge burning bush. It does look like it's putting out a lot of new growth - not bad for a 37+ yr old plant.

Also, it is in desparate need of repotting. I have read to repot after it is done blooming - is that info correct? And will it need special soil, or is a general potting mix good to use?

Thanks in advance for any feedback~

Comments (21)

• hallgal2
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the info Toni! I've got a picture of my plant in bloom last year somewhere - I'll see if I can find it. It's a plant that was given to my parents right before I was born (I'm giving away my age, LOL!) from a plant that is probably around 100 yrs old now if it's still alive.

When my dad was alive, he was the caretaker of all the plants, and it did very well. After he passed away, my mom took over, and well.....she has a black thumb! It was doing poorly, so she gave it to me. I'm trying to get it to flourish, but we're not there yet. It's in a plastic pot, the soil holds way too much moisture. I get a little nervous about doing anything that may cause it harm.

Oh, and it's in a plant stand that's propped on the ground. Not many squirrels in my front yard at all, so that hasn't been a concern. And I've kept a close eye out for other pests too - I don't want any unwanted guests in my house when I bring it back in.

Thanks again for the advice!~

Maureen

• pageysgirl
    16 years ago