Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryl_gw

Outside gardener needs inside help (pic)

I've been doing ornamental gardening for about 25 years now and this July was a killer here in Oklahoma. In fact Oklahoma set the all time record for having the hottest July on record of any state ever. Temperatures of 115 were not uncommon. Even normally heat tolerant plants were biting the dust. So imagine my surprise when I ran across this plant at a Krispy Kreme donut outlet growing as a south side foundation plant looking as if it was a pleasant spring day. I'm 99% sure this is some sort of houseplant, but I'm hoping for an ID. The leaves are fairly succulent. I have more pics if needed...Thank you.....Maryl

{{gwi:99289}}

Comments (6)

• brodyjames_gw
    12 years ago

Looks like Moses in a Boat/Moses in the Cradle. Tradescantia spathacea, I think.
    Others will chime in.

Nancy

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Ah ha! Thank you so much Nancy. I'm vaguely familiar with the old wandering jew plant, but they are not full sun plants outdoors I don't think. But with the botanical name you gave me in tow I did a search and ran across what I am pretty sure is the name of this plant. It seems like it has 50 different botanical names but I'll settle for Tradescantia Bermudensis Hawaiian Dwarf. It's care description (hot and sunny) fit the bill for where this was growing. Now I just have to try and find it. Finding anything (tropicals, houseplants etc.) that can take the inferno that is our summers is a challenge, even if I have to pitch them when winter moves in.....Thank you again

Here is a link that might be useful: Tradescantia Hawaiian Dwarf

• birdsnblooms
    12 years ago

Maryl. I find the easiest name to remember is 'Oyster Plant,' lol.
    Google 'oyster plant, pictures', many photos and info pops up.

Why not go back to Krispy Kreme, and ask if you can take a small cutting? A 4-6" piece will be sufficent.