Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
princesserica_gw

Gerbera Daisy plant problems!

PrincessErica
18 years ago

Howdy everyone. I'm totally new to keeping plants, so please bear with my almost non-existant knowledge. I was hoping some of the experts around here might be able to point me in the right direction.

My hubby bought me a Gerbera Daisy potted plant for my birthday in May. It had 2 pink blooms when he purchased it. Within 2 weeks, the blooms died. It seemed like the stem right at the top got really weak, which caused the flower to wilt over and die within a day or two. I tried propping the blooms up, but it didn't help. This happened to both the blooms within a couple of days of each other. I cut them off, and now I'm left with a lot of really healthy, vibrant foliage, but obviously you don't buy flowering plants for the foliage! The plant itself is doing very well, there's a lot of new growth inside, but it's all leaves. Is there something I can do to encourage flowers to grow instead of new leaves?

It's in a window that gets a lot of light and is being watered when the soil is dry with the recommended dose of Miracle-Gro. I sit the pot in a bowl of water and let it soak up the water as opposed to watering it directly from the top.

As I said before, I'm totally new to keeping plants, so this probably seems like a silly question, but I don't know what else to do. Gotta learn from the experts if I want to acquire the knowledge myself, right? Any help that can be offered is most appreciated, thanks in advance!

Comments (55)

• blueviolet
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi