Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
danesnpits

Confused about fertilizing indoor plants

danesnpits
10 years ago

I have about 55 species of indoor plants. I am still learning how to look after them and have made a list of each plant and their care from water, fertilization, light etc. I am confused. Some of the plants I have say to use 10-10-10 ratio of fertilizer. For the life of me I don't see any indoor 10-10-10, just outdoor 10-10-10..So what would a person do? Should I just take my 20-20-20 and half dose?

Comments (8)

• dsws
    10 years ago

A ratio stays the same when you change all the numbers by the same factor. It's like putting a fraction in lowest terms: it's still the same fraction whether you call it 1/2 or call it 8/16. So yes, a 10-10-10 ratio is the same as a 1-1-1 ratio or a 20-20-20 ratio, and you would just use different amounts.

However, from what I've read here, no plant wants a 1-1-1 ratio.

I don't actually know anything from experience about what fertilizer plants want. I have about 2 species of indoor plants, myself.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

Too little fertilizer = no problem. Too much = likely toxic.

Spreadsheets are great for those kinds of lists, BTW...

• petrushka (7b)
    10 years ago

if you feed with every watering 1-1-1 ratio is very good for lots of plants. especially those with colorful foliage with pink/red in it. i give it to my caladiums (which i grow strictly indoors), crotons (half a year indoors), coleus (outdoors), begonias when they are growing leaves only. also calathea/stromante and African violets.
    it could be used for succulents too or slow growing plants that dislike hi N.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    10 years ago