Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyermike_1micha

What was your 1st houseplant? What got you started? How about now

meyermike_1micha
11 years ago

Please, tell us a bit about your love for plants.

Since we all have a LOVE, sometimes obession with our houseplants, I was wondering what your very FIRST one was and what got you started on the road to many more?

Do you still have it?

Did your ability to grow them come naturally, or were you taught, self taught?

Yes, did you have success with them from the get go, or did you spends years trying to make them look as good as they do, or at least survive them? Trial and error?

My very first plant was, of all things,was a 'Lemon Meyer' tree!

Yes, I remember that day when when I was browsing the Nursery with my mom when I stumbled upon the fragrance of all those blooms! I just had to have one. She bought it for me and that plant sat by my bed in a sunny window for a whole year. Boy did it smell good in winter , until it croaked. I was devasated.

You know, rotted root syndrome, and spider mites invasion!

So In an effort to prove I was not a failure at growing it, I bought one every time I killed one, probably a dozen or so over a 5 year period, until I finally decided to try a different type.

I remember an old lady down the street who just loved to teach me the basics of good plant care and then left me to care for all hers after she passed. I thought I was pretty good at it until I kept on killing many only after a few months.

At one point, I killed 15 citrus trees before a winter was over.

Then recieved a beautiful Jade cutting from a Doctor who got it from Switzerland, and I fell in love with it. I gave it a very porous mix and ignored it most times. In fact, I fell out of love with it and could of cared less about it over time until I stumbled across the Cactus forum and realized I had a rare plant. It has grown huge since. Not only that, I have shared this plant with many all over the world.