Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blabberboca

House plants that can handle a hot, south-facing garden window?

blabberboca
10 years ago

Hi there!

Disclaimer: I'm VERY new to caring for house plants, and I'm still not all that good at it, so forgive me if I sound ignorant!

I have a south-facing garden window in my kitchen that gets a lot of direct sunlight and also gets VERY hot during the summer. I've had some plants do wonderfully there over the winter, but during the summer, barely anything can survive.

I already have some crassula capitella 'campfire,' alworthia 'black gem,' jades, and portulacaria afra 'variegata' in there, and they do OK (though not great, because I never know when to water the darn things -- succulents in hot sun?! what's the trick?! I know they like to be dry, but HOW dry?!). But I'd love to throw something a little taller and leafier into the mix for variety. I'm not much of a cactus fan.

Are there any house plants that can handle direct sunlight and heat year-round? Maybe sansevieria?

(Note: The photo is from winter time on a cloudy day, as you can probably tell. Just wanted to give an idea of size/spacing/etc.)

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Comments (16)

• birdsnblooms
    10 years ago

Howdy Blabberboca,

How hot does it get in summer and winter?

Most people long for southern exposures. Grass is always greener. lol.

Succulents love direct sun, but I'm not sure they'll adapt to super hot temps.

Do you not like cactus because of thorns? Ever seen Agaves? There's some beautiful, variegated varieties.

Sansevieria is a succulent. Direct summer sun might be too bright, fade leaf colors.

What is the windows depth?

Are you looking for a tropical to set in your window? Is that what you meant by leafy plant?

Many folks enjoy growing herbs in sunny, kitchen windows. I don't do herbs, so can't advise ...hopefully someone here will chime in.

By chance, do you have a ceiling fan in the kitchen?