Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasper60103

newbie and needing some advice

jasper60103
10 years ago

Hi, all.
I'm a newbie here on the house plants forum.
I'm seeking some info and advice about my plant below.

My mom passed away back in 2007 and this plant was a survivor. I'm trying to keep it alive and healthy hopefully for many years.

The plant is currently at my office and I'm debating about moving home before winter arrives here in minnesota.

First, can you identify the plant on the left side of the file cabinet?

I was thinking before attempting to move I should probably trim it back? Any recommendations how far to cut back?

Also, I should probably take a few more cuttings and root just in case it doesn't survive the trip.
The smaller plant by the window was started from a cutting a few months back.

Appreciate any advice.

jasper

{{gwi:102068}}

{{gwi:102069}}

{{gwi:102070}}

Comments (5)

• birdsnblooms
    10 years ago

Jasper, Hello & Welcome,

First, sorry you lost your mom.

Your plant is Sygonium...It's common name is Arrowhead Vine.

Your Syngonium looks good. Very healthy.

When was the last time it was repotted? If it's been in the same pot and soil since 2007, it's time for re-potting, or at the minimum, fresh soil.
    Actually, if you're thinking of re-potting, I'd wait until late winter or spring.
    Check roots. If they're filling pot, up conatiner size.

How much light is it getting? Your Syngonium looks fine where it's located, but a little brighter light, 'not summer direct sun,' wouldn't hurt.

If you decide to prune, root cuttings like you did with the smaller Sygonium.

BTW, Syngoniums look good hanging, but can also be grown upright..It'd need staking.
    Since you have two plants, why not keep the older Syngonium hanging, and stake the smaller plant?

Obviously, you're worried you'll lose the Syngonium, and it never hurts taking cuttings, but you don't want too many either.