Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rebeccaben_gw

New Lipstick plant rapidly dying, advice needed

rebeccaben
9 years ago

I purchased my first lipstick plant on Monday. It was in perfect condition when I bought it home and now it's losing leaves by the minute and getting worse every day. I was hoping it was broken vines from being transported, but more and more vines are going downhill and fast. Is there anything I can do to save it or just wait and see what happens?. I gave it a small drink on Monday and the soil right now feels moist not soaked, any advice would be appreciated

Comments (10)

• rebeccaben
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Picture 2

• averil
    9 years ago

Hi Rebeccaben, I have seen your other post and that is a beautiful plant you have. I am no expert but I think this may be an overwatering issue. I have one and only water it when bone dry. Mines sits in the bathroom in a west window and it thrives with a bit of humidity. I have googled around and I did see it mentioned that these plants prefer tepid water or it can cause spotting on the leaves. I give mine cold water and it's not been a problem. If no one else comes along with different advice, I would remove it from its pot and allow it to try out a bit. I hope this helps because it really is a beauty

• lauraeli_
    9 years ago

Honestly I would take it back to the greenhouse. There is something really weird going on with it. The issue is so uniform, all over the plant, and it makes me wonder if it is sensitive to the leaf shine. ive heard some plants are... :-/

• rebeccaben
    Original Author
    9 years ago