Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kswonder

What's wrong with my plant?

kswonder
9 years ago

Though I have this baby plant for over 4 years now, I'm still a rookie in the art of home plants, as my baby plant never asks for anything other than water. However, it is not doing so well recently and I'd very much appreciate your advise and suggestions to bring it back to health.

First, I'm shamed to admit that I still don't know what species is this. Second, I notice that my baby plant is suffering in Spring and Summer, but awesome during Fall and Winter. Look at it now... very depressing for it and myself. Third, I feel that the container is too small for it now, but not sure how large a pot and what kind of soil should I get.

Please forgive my ignorance. I love my plant and water and clean it regularly, but I think I need some professional advice now. Thanks in advance.

Comments (52)

• asleep_in_the_garden
    9 years ago

Beth has the right of it...aglaonema commutatum to be exact.

• Jason J
    9 years ago

Yes it is a Aglaonema.

It really really wants a new pot, it looks like it is in a 4" container, I would go up to a 6" or to a 8" if its a 6". You can use miracle-grow for this guy, just make sure you pot him in a pot with nice drainage holes in it.

Since miracle grow has fertilizer in it, I wouldn't worry about fertilizing him. Once he starts filling out again, its a good idea to use a liquid fertilizer every other time you water.

Now I would also give him a prune job, cut some of the older canes down and this will encourage new growth. With your trimmings, put them in a glass of water, they will root and then you can pot them up making another plant or keep them in water.

• kswonder
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you all! Really appreciated.

I've been sitting here all day with no response, and a bathroom break away, bang, all your messages are here! You guys are mysteriously in sync :)