Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jhc523

Janet Craig - Black Tips

jhc523
11 years ago

Hi, I am a plant novice and really worried about my janet craig. I have about 5 ft tall janet craig that I received from my grandmother as a housewarming gift. She repotted the soil and it is currently in a clay pot. There is a small drainage hole on the bottom of the clay pot.

The plant is not directly in front of any window, but next to a wall that is across an east-facing window.

I water about every one to one and a half week - approximately 3.5 fluid ounces/2 liters.

Starting about 2 weeks, the leaf tips have been turning black and now there are other leafs that are starting to turn yellow/brown.

Is this due to overwatering? Do I need a larger pot for this plant?

Would appreciate any help! Thank you.

Comments (7)

• jhc523
    Original Author
    11 years ago

more photos

• jhc523
    Original Author
    11 years ago

pot and size of plant

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago

If your plant has never wilted that you noted, and if you can still detect ANY moisture in the soil when you water, you're not under-watering. That leaves the problem very likely to be found in the combination of soil choice and and watering habits, which automatically brings into play the level of soluble salts in the soil. Going only by the odds, the best placer to put your money is on over-watering and a soil too water-retentive to allow you to water correctly w/o impairing root function. When the soil is soggy, the root system can't get the air it needs to fuel its metabolism, so the ability to move water efficiently shows up in the most distal parts of the plant - leaf tips and margins. While there may be other secondary contributing factors that need attention, the most progress, by far, can be made by working toward providing a healthier root environment.