Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
some recent purchases

Posted by ttkidd Toronto ON (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 7, 13 at 14:31

Monterey cypress:

I'm hoping to train this one into more of a Christmas tree shape (I don't have room for a full sized Christmas tree in my condo...especially with all the other plants). While I have it staked upright now, as you can see it has an asymmetrical growth pattern. I have no experience training/pruning conifers, so any advice would be appreciated.

European olive:

I'd like to eventually turn this one into a nice large container plant with a thick tapered trunk. I'd appreciate any suggestions on where I should make my initial cuts.

Kaffir Lime:

Not much to say about this one. I bought it primarily so I could use the pruned leaves in cooking. I love Thai food :) Hopefully I can keep it alive indoors.

This post was edited by ttkidd on Sat, Sep 7, 13 at 14:36

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: some recent purchases

Lovely, that olive will surely make for an interesting houseplant!!!!

o

Regarding pruning, generally tip pinching results in tip bifurcation. Removal of leaves farther down the stem should result in a new branch at the node where the leaf was removed.

o

TTkidd...

Nice haul....

I'm not an expert with Cypress/firs, but will it live indoors?
It will need a cool room once the heat is turned on.
It is a beautiful tree though.

Olives are slow-growing. My olive is 14-yrs-old..It's grown 3-4' since 1999.

As for your Kaffir...they're beautiful plants, but yours is a seedling.
I find 'standards' much easier to keep indoors.
Do you order online?
If so, I can give you the name of a citrus nursery in FL that sells, standard citrus trees, 1-3' tall, for 15-20.00 each.
Most of my citrus were purchased at this nursery.

Toni

o

• Posted by ttkidd Toronto ON (My Page) on
    Mon, Sep 16, 13 at 13:14

Thanks for the replies.