Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lgsmith_gw

mice eating my houseplants?

lgsmith
17 years ago

I just began caring for houseplants this past year, so I am new at all this. For over two weeks now something has been chewing the leaves off my houseplants and also digging holes in the soil. I assumed it to be mice but many mousetraps have gone untouched. I have found droppings that look like mice droppings in the rooms that contain plants. It's getting very frustrating to find 5-10 leaves on my floor every morning. Does anyone have any ideas or help for me?

Comments (31)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    17 years ago

It's time for some major exterminating. I'm not sure that this is a houseplant problem, but a mouse problem! Change your mousetraps, provide a different kind of bait, try several different kinds of traps, or call an exterminator. A large population of indoor mice can be a health hazard for several reasons. Good luck!

• birdsnblooms
    17 years ago

I saw the first mouse on Sun..and yes, they've dug in my plants, made holes, and chewed leaves, too..As much as I hate using poisons, I ended up buying D-Con/D-Kon ..it really helps..I set it in rooms where my birds can't get it. I don't like using traps cause I dont want to remove their corpses. Yuck. Soon, more mice will come in and I'll have my hands full. I also buy sticky traps and place behind the stove, etc..it works..Toni

• granbjd22
    17 years ago

wow, this too has just started with us too! I can't beleive this is happening to others! we put down traps with the favorite Peanutbutter. Not one trap was touched! they just dig the dirt out of my plants. Why do they do this? others can't beleive that the peanutbutter was not touched.nOw we bought a few of the ultra sonic rodent things. they DO work! it chases them out of the house!

• lgsmith
    Original Author
    17 years ago