Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenny3721_gw

Replanting help

Jenny3721
10 years ago

Hi,

I am new to gardening and taking care of plants. I have started working in an office with several indoor plants and have taken over the job of taking care of them. There is one that was not doing well when I got here so I gave it some new soil and started watering it regularly. It is doing better, with new growth on the top but wondering if It should be in a bigger pot and if there is anything that should be done regarding the browning leaves and the fact that the stalk is bare on the bottom. Hope this question makes sense and any help or tips would be appreciated. Also not sure what kind of plant it even is. Thanks!!

Comments (6)

• birdsnblooms
    10 years ago

Hi Jenny & Welcome,

The plant is Ficus, Rubber Tree, variegata/variegated.

Are any roots growing out of drainage holes, on bottom of pot? If not, repotting can be done in spring, if needed.

I see roots on top, but the pot needs more soil. If it doesn't need repotting, another inch or two will cover exposed roots.

When you water, does the water drain freely or hold moisture?

What type of light is it getting?

Most office plants do not get adequate light, humidity and waterings.

There's several reasons leaves brown including dry air and/or improper watering. If soil remains dry for prolonged periods, leaves will brown.
    On the other hand, over-watering is the number 1 plant killer, but I doubt the Ficus was over-watered.

Water when soil feels dry, and I'd add a little more soil.

How much time are you allowed to work on plants? Toni

• Jenny3721
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks so much!