Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
parker806

bring houseplants indoors for winter?

parker806
16 years ago

need help please. i have many large hanging baskets that i bought this year and want to bring them in for the winter. they are approx. 2 1/2 + ft across in an 8-10 inch pot. should i take cuttings and start new ones for next year to put outdoors in summer? or should i just keep pruning these to keep them compact. thanks for the help as i am new to this

Comments (8)

• lucy
    16 years ago

Anything tropical (not cold hardy) has to come inside. But they should also be checked to see if they're rootbound, and if necessary put into larger pots with more soil around them. I say that because now is not the time of year to be pruning roots (or branches) if they've been living outside all summer - that should be done in early spring, then you could repot properly into either the same pot it's in (minus old woody roots vs new young feeders higher up - about 1/3-1/2 of root mass) with new soil, or into some other pot even smaller if you choose (then you'll have a potential bonsai :-)! The point is that continual clipping of foliage isn't enough - you have to address the whole plant at some point.

• breenthumb
    16 years ago

Would help a lot to know what they are. Hanging plants can be almost anything. The only hanging plants I have outside this year are my regular houseplants--spider, asparagus fern, and pepperomia. Lots of others in pots on the porch, though.

But if you bought some annuals that you'd like to restart for next year, that's a completely different question. And it depends on what you have. I've had good luck with Coleus and once even kept hanging Impatients going long before I read "you can't do that." So what have you got? Sandy

• birdsnblooms
    16 years ago

I too was wondering the types of plants you're growing in baskets. Tropicals or annuals? Or something else? Tropicals vs annuals is a whole different ballgame. Toni

• parker806