Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arevirlegna

What's wrong with my Variegated Ivy plant?

arevirlegna
9 years ago

I've had this variegated ivy plant for almost 2 months now and about two weeks ago I started noticing small webs on the leaves. I figured it was spider mites so I've been misting the leaves everyday with water mixed with a few drops of soap, I had read that should work in getting rid of them. But I've also noticed some of the leaves quickly darkening in a few days and drying up. I don't know if it's the spider mites lack of water or too much. I thought it was lack so i removed the plant carefully from the pot and notice many roots and dry soil so I moved the soil a bit and sprayed it with water. I just wanted to know if this problem sounded familiar to anyone or if anyone has suggestions on what I can do to fix the issue. This is my first time having a plant. I keep the plant indoors I had a UV filtered lamp on the plant but recently stopped using it thinking it may be part of the issue. Please help me figure out whats wrong with my plant. I also posted a picture to show what I'm talking about, thanks.

Comments (26)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

You're right to think of mites when you have crispy foliage on ivy. It looks to me like your choice od SOAP is not the right choice. Insecticidal soap is consistent in its formulation (all use potassium salt of fatty acids as the active ingredient) and manufacturers are careful their formulations minimize insecticidal soap's impact on plant material - unlike other soaps and detergents.

The blotchy look of your leaves is probably due to something topically phytotoxic. Ivy likes it cooler than most houseplants, so if your hand feels warm at the same distance from the light source as your plants, the light is either too close or produces too much heat.