Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Thai Basil - Growing indoors, leaves have small black dots on

Posted by chrisjohn London (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 25, 13 at 8:49

I have been growing about 10 Thai Basil plants indoors for about 2 months now and they started off fine with no problems, now all of a sudden they look very unwell and have small black dots on the leaves, it seems to be killing the leaves slowly. I have a photo. If anyone knows what has happened or can help at all it would be greatly appreciated as I use these plants for cooking as it is hard to buy them in the UK. Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Thai Basil - Growing indoors, leaves have small black dots on

In another post,Rhizo had an answer to a similar(the same?)problem.

Hope this helps! :)

Here is a link that might be useful: link to post

o

The problem in the other post is leafminers. The problem here is different.

The whitish areas on the leaf to the left appear to be collapsed tissue. Could have occurred due to a water shortage -- possibly hot weather? very low humidity?

If that's true, the small black lesions could be a secondary infection, especially if the plants are now in a more humid environment.

o

chrisjohn - your basil has spider mites. I'd chuck it out, I'm afraid. It is really hard to keep basil going indoors over here in the winter. There is just too little light for it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Spider mites

o

Definitely spidermites

o

Thanks very much, I think it is Spidermites. I have taken all the infected leaves off, which is about 90% now as I have left it too late and I have sprayed it with Neem oil. Will probably have to grow another batch and keep a look out. It did seem to start when Autumn start.

o