Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
purpleinopp

volunteer palm seedling

I noticed this about 10 days ago. I'm guessing this came from a seed from my parlor palm, although I don't remember it flowering this year. When it has flowered in the past, I never thought the seeds were any good. It makes little green balls that turn orange and I've always just cut them off when the little orange balls start falling off. I didn't think they were viable seeds and could probably never produce a sprout if I was *trying*.

{{gwi:105690}}

{{gwi:105691}}

I have no experience with palms this small. I don't really want a palm growing in this pot - there's already a tree, Philodendron cutting that's taking off, and I added some spider plant babies a couple weeks ago.

Would it be best to try to remove it right away, or wait until March when the primary resident of this pot (Dracaena marginata) is due to be repotted?

Suspected mama:

{{gwi:80921}}Shack.us

Comments (29)

• Pat z6 MI
    12 years ago

Cute and funny.

• birdsnblooms
    12 years ago

Purple, that's amazing! Look at that cute baby..AWWW!

If you were attempting to sow a seed, it probably wouldn't germinate..lol.
    Think about all that's involved with sowing? Lights, heat, sterile pots, certain soil. lol.

Well, if you plan on keeping the palm, perhaps you should wait until spring. It's doing fine where it is, so why not?

Its roots aren't going to disturb those of your marginata's..not yet.. It's really amazing. Toni

BTW, you said your Palm didn't bloom this year. What about last year? Palm seeds can take a year before germinating. T

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks! If I could figure out how to put a little pink bow on it, I might. It's about time something besides yellow Oxalis showed up in one of my pots.