Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
re: Pothos the Plant = Scindapsus?

Posted by eahamel 9a (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 14, 12 at 12:10

That thread is getting pretty long, and my question will take it farther afield. This plant is labeled Scindapsus N/Joy. Isn't it the same as the Pothos?

(the green thing curving at the bottom of the pic is a Sanseveria cylindrica that I've been hauling around since about 1973.)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: re: Pothos the Plant = Scindapsus?

oops, forgot to attach the pic again after making an edit!

o

Howdy again, lol..

Yep, your plant is a Pothos.

An online friend, gave me a cutting 4/2009. Common names go by N'Joy and Pearls and Jade.

Pothos

This type is much more difficult than standard Pothos or whatever they're called, lol..Wish mine now looked as nice as yours. lol.
I also tried rooting cuttings...unlike other Pothos, this guy didn't take..tried both water and soil..No luck.

Toni

o

The thing to remember is that pothos is a latin genus name, and its also a commob name for similar type of plants.
Just like the word palm. It is applied to many plants that looks like palms but arent.

o

Larry, don't you just hate those taxonomists? They're turning the plant world upside down!

Toni, I had never seen this type before a few months ago, now it's turning up at a lot of nurseries. It's really pretty, if you can find one, go for it.

o

Well i prefer the taxonomists to those that give us misleading common names!
Traveller's Palm isnt a palm, its related to Bird of Paradise Flower, Grass of Parnassus isnt a grass , lucky bamboo is a dracena etc

o

Larry, you're so right! Try convincing a novice that a confederate rose isn't a rose. Or that an asparagus fern isn't a fern. Botanical names are best, but geeze, what a mess they are!

o

Try Palm Grass, Molineria capitulata, neither a palm nor a grass. Or Panama Hat Palm, Carludovica palmata, not from Panama, not a hat, and not a palm.