Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to gardening... need help identifying plants

Posted by rsanford FL (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 2, 11 at 20:17

Hello all! I am very new to gardening. I have a job in the Botany department (I am actually a Zoologist, but this is just where the opening was!) and someone else in the greenhouse was about to throw away these plants and they said we could take them. The problem is, I don't even know what species they are! Which makes looking up online how to care for them difficult. I took some pictures. Maybe you guys could tell me generally what they are.

Here is a link to the flickr gallery: http://www.flickr.com/photos/62464127@N03/sets/72157627680137871/

Any help would be appreciated, even if you can only name one :). Also, if you know anything about the care of these plants (how much light, how much water, etc.) I would also appreciate that!
Thank you, Rachel

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to gardening... need help identifying plants

Hi Rachel & Welcome,

I"ll get you started w/ some names & others can chime in w/ care maybe & then you can also check looking up:

1. Some Palm

2. Peperomia obtusifolia

3. Sansevieria moonshine

4. Epipremnum aka Pothos

5. Peperomia (don't know which, looks thirsty,
think it needs water)

6. Corn Plant (Dracena ?)

7. Fern

there you go ...

These are all tropicals or semi-tropicals, except the Sansevieria, which is a succulent.

o

Thank you! I didn't expect this fast of a response- this forum is awesome :) I will look up the care on these and go for it!

o

Hello and Welcome.
1. Chamaedorea Elegansm, 'Parlor Palm'

5. Peperomia obtusifoliia, variegata

6. Dracaena warneckii, 'Striped Dracaena'

7. Nephrolepis exaltuta, 'Fluffy Ruffles' Fern

You got some really nice specimens...Toni

o

You're most welcome. We're not always this good but we do try. Happily in this instance Toni (HopefulA) filled in the ones I couldn't specify further.

Thanks Toni -- nice 'workin' w/ ya!

o