Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yuriyaa

Calathea critical situation !!!

Yuriyaa
10 years ago

Hello, something crazy happened to my Calathea and I don't know what to do. The plant hasn't been watered for a week and a half and look what happened! Does anyone has an idea how can I help my plant, PLEACE?
Thank you for any help!

Comments (18)

• jeffminifield
    10 years ago

How dry is the soil ?

• marricgardens
    10 years ago

I'm no expert on calatheas but when I bought mine, the tag said never to let the soil dry out completely. I have mine sitting in a pebble tray and it is doing well, I also mist it regularly. Mine is still in the original soil so I can't tell you what it is. My guess would be that yours is dry. What type of soil is it in? Marg

• Yuriyaa
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I watered it since i came back. It's moist now, but the leaves wouldn't open.. The soil is a mix for the green plants. On the pack is written: ficus, yucca, palmier d'intérieur, pothos, chlorophytum, fougère.
    But yes, it has dried out any soul would dry our spetially in the ceramic pot. But what can I do to save it? Put it under the lamp? I am moisting it every day cince then...

• pirate_girl
    10 years ago

No, the lamp is just going to cook the plant, not help it. The plant is already too dry, drying it out further will likely kill it.

I'd guess the mix has hardened off like rock & will not absorb moisture (that's too much peat content). You need to investigate the mix or soil & see if this is the case. If so, you have work to do as the mix will not absorb from just spraying a bit here & there.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago