Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellenr22

? re grow light

first of all, I am a very amateur grower, with limited space and more importantly limited $.
so I am not asking about those fluorescent set-ups. Also I have no skills to perhaps make up my own.

I simply want to improve the quality of life of my few plants (include succulents).
They face a north window.

So I'm thinking of this grow light. (link below)
I used to have one and it seemed to help.
I'm sure that it is not going to do what the 4-ft fluorescent bulbs do, but keep in mind, I am a very casual gardener, and when Spring comes I return to my community garden and might chuck my indoor plants. :)

This is all an experiment for me anyway.

Before I get it, or maybe in addition to it, as it does not cost very much, do you have any suggestions along these lines? It has to be a bulb that goes into a usual bulb socket.

Here is a link that might be useful: Grow light

Comments (8)

• dellis326 (Danny)
    9 years ago

Forget that lamp, Incandescent lamps are mostly heat.

Go with "Daylight" compact florescent, the small pigtail looking lamps. Get 23 Watts or more and if you can get ones that are marked "6500K" this is the color temperature rating. Either or both of those are good.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

the key to lights.. is how far they are from the plant ...

trust me.. i understand budget ...

get something like at the link .. yes.. i understand its 5 times your light ...

but it will be worth it...

maybe you wont have to throw out your plants come spring ...

but the key is to get hardware chain.. and make sure.. its only 2 inches from your plants ...

by the time you put your little light.. 2 inches from the plant.. it will light a 6 inch circle.. meaning one plant.. it will be worthless ..

plain old 4 foot shop lamps... no foo foo special spectrum stuff ... its all marketing hype ....