Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peajay_gw

Watering Huge Ficus Benjamina

peajay
9 years ago

We recently purchased a 10 ft. Tall Ficus in a 30 gallon nursery tub. It had been growing in a courtyard covered with shade cloth. It had roots into the soil which had to be cut before it was delivered. It is now in our atrium and the bottom of the pot is covered so drain holes cannot be seen. The tree has been in its new location a month and continues to drop leaves. (It has new leaves but the interval between new leaves has increased significantly. We are worried that we may not be watering correctly. What advice do you have regarding watering when the drain holes are not visible?

Comments (5)

• pelargonium_gw
    9 years ago

I have no experience with ficus outdoors, as I live in North Norway, but I have grown them indoors. My comments are as follows: The tree is losing leaves. Possible causes: 1. The tree has been moved. 2. Some roots have been cut. 3. It is fall. All these things may be reasons leaves are shedding, and new growth is slow. I would give it some time, hopefully things will be better in spring.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

Does the picture illustrate where the tree WAS, or where it is now?

The tree is shedding foliage as a drought response, but that doesn't necessarily mean that watering more is any sort of solution. A tree with the foliage mass as large as that in the picture needs a larger root system than even a skilled gardener who knows how to root prune can pack into 30 gallons, and if the previous owner is any sort of grower, he/she KNEW that before the tree was sold and should have done what is necessary to ensure what you're about to endure wouldn't happen.