Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wyndrose_gw

Help with a snake plant

wyndrose
10 years ago

Hi I found this snake plant laying outside the lady moved two weeks ago I seen the guy dump it out of the pot but I know it got hit with a hard frost I am going to put it in a pot and cut all the mushy leaves off does anyone have an other ideas what to try or do
Frances

Comments (6)

• pirate_girl
    10 years ago

If it got hit w/ a hard frost it may be lost (I have no experience w/ that, but these plants don't come from cold country).

Pls. don't pot it up yet. Cut off all the mush & leave it out, lying on some newspapers to try & dry it off, the roots look soaked.

After a day, sprinkle some cinnamon on the cut edges & on the roots (it's a natural anti-fungal, helps to combat rot, tho' in this case it may be too late) & then shake it to shake off the excess.

I'd leave it out a good several days at least, then pot int in a small clay pot & whatever you do, pls. DO NOT WATER.

Then one has to sit back & wait. Sorry there aren't any magic answers, I'll wish you luck.

If the 2 green parts remaining are mushy, it's too late.

The right one looks a goner, the left one maybe has a chance if you just cut off all the top & the roots & leave ONLY the green part of the leaf, & root it as if you were rooting a leaf cutting.

Also, there is a Sans. forum nearby, you may wish to read some there to get more ideas.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

Frances, did you see it get knocked out of the pot two weeks ago??

If so, I doubt that the roots are still alive. Root systems cannot tolerate being dried out.

Maybe some further details will help us understand what the situation really is.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

What kind of temps are you talking about?

IME with frost-bitten Sans leaves, the damage takes longer to manifest and I wonder if those leaves were already dead when the decision was made to not bring this plant along when moving.