Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelby_miller

Syngonium podophyllum Help

Kelby Miller
10 years ago

Please help me figure out what to do with this plant. It was my mom's plant before she passed away a few days ago and I am trying to bring it back to life and make it lush and beautiful. I don't know a thing about it and I am a very beginner when it comes to planting.

I found out on the "Name This Plant" forum that it is a Syngonium podophyllum. I think that is the general name for it but not the specific. Does anyone have the specific name for it?

So when it comes to caring about this plant I have a few questions. The pot it is in now doesn't have holes at the bottom so when it was watered I believe the water just pooled on the bottom. I think I should re-pot it into another pot with holes in it. Any suggestions on the type of pot and when I should do this. IDK if it is safe to do in the winter (it's snowing outside now so even though it is technically fall, the snow makes it winter for me). Also, what window should I put the plant in my house. My options are a NE window, South facing window or in the bathroom that has a skylight that is filtered.

Please help me out with this plant everyone! Thank you so much.

{{gwi:112297}}

{{gwi:112298}}

Comments (25)

• Will07
    10 years ago

Sorry for your loss. If this was my plant I would definitely take it out of this pot and look at the roots. The roots look water logged. I'd separate each stock and lay them on some newspaper or paper towel and let dry for a couple hours. I'd get some good potting soil (not miracle Gro) but something peat or coco coir based. I would then fill up a 6" pot and burry these stems in a semi dry mix. Do not water until you see new growth! You can mist foliage but do not soak the soil. These plants are very forgiving, but you need patience.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago