Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
puglvr1

Help Rooting Pitcher Plant Cuttings

puglvr1
10 years ago

Hi, I am very new to these plants and was hoping someone can tell me if the way I'm going to root these pitcher plant cuttings is okay or if there's a better way? I was given 3 nice cuttings and I added some rooting hormone on the cut ends and placed the cuttings in a container filled with Hyrdroton see link below (fired clay pellets) and filled it up with a very diluted kelp/water solution...I placed the pot in an aquarium for added humidity and will add some light for several hours in the evening...I was going to spray the leaves every other day for added humidity as well...is this method okay?

I'm thinking 6-8 weeks for roots to form, unless they rot first :o(

Thanks for any comments, advise and help!

Here is a link that might be useful: Hydroton

Comments (32)

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    10 years ago

Cuttings root very easily BUT, do it in a 50/50 mix of peat moss and perlite. NO WATER TRAY. Keep damp, not soggy.

I select cuttings with at least 3-4 leaves and cut off the bottom leaf or 2 and stick in the mix burying at least one leaf node.

• dellis326 (Danny)
    10 years ago

No tap water or fertilizer. Very bad for these plants.

Use only distilled or rain water.

• puglvr1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Tommyr and Dellis...I can make a 50/50 potting soil tht has peat moss in it and I can add half perlite. Do I need to put it in a covered and lighted aquarium? The room I'm planning on rooting it in will Or just set it on top of a Plant shelf uncovered without additional light?

Tommy, did you cut half of the stems on your cuttings? I read where some suggested you do this but didn't want to unless I really should? I know to remove the pitchers which I did ...Thanks!

Rain water I have...so I'll make sure and use that...

Thanks!!

This post was edited by puglvr1 on Wed, Nov 13, 13 at 16:57

• dellis326 (Danny)
    10 years ago