Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerpottipper

questions from a beginner

flowerpottipper
12 years ago

Hello everyone.

I have some questions about some of my house plants. I'm new to collecting house plants, I've only discovered my love of them about three months ago and it's turned into an addiction as I've already have about 50 plants lol. And I have been searching on here alot to find answers before asking and either couldn't find them or I'm still confused about some things.

First question is about soil, I'm hearing that buying plant soil already mixed isn't good, so when I get ready to repot some of my plants this spring, what kind of dirt/soils should I buy to mix and make my own?

I have no south facing windows in my apartment, I have east and west windows in my living room, so I have been using artificial plant lights, how long should succulents be getting light and how close should the light be to them? And what about plants that need alot of light like my chenille, goldfish, purple velvet plant, and wandering jew? It's really cloudy here lately and it's been snowing, so I feel like my plants are not getting enough natural light.

Also, I went out and bought a hindu rope plant, it's my most favorite of all my plants, and it was very expensive cause I could only find one place that carried it and I was willing to pay the high price for it. Exactly how should I be taking care of it? I keep finding different answers for this one. Some people say to keep it on the dry side, some say it likes to be moist and should never get dry, I'm very confused about it....