Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenliz_gw

What's wrong with my Croton?

jenliz
9 years ago

I'm new to gardening and purchased a Croton from Walmart about 2.5 months ago. I repotted it two weeks later in Miracle grow mix for potted plants. It was doing fine until a few days ago it started dropping leaves from the top of the plant. The leaves looked fine. It's in an eastern facing window and gets about 1.5 to 2 hours of direct light a day. I keep the soil moist.. Not too wet or too dry. And the house is never below 65. It isn't near drafts, and I mist it twice a week. Could I be under watering it? I know with my aloe if you overwater the bottom leaves die.. Or is it not getting enough sun? I don't want it to die :( I live near the beach in maryland in a development surrounded by woods so we don't get an enormous amount of light this time of year.

Comments (8)

• teengardener1888
    9 years ago

Looks healthy to me, but brace for dissaproval from other members of miracle grow potting mix.

• jenliz
    Original Author
    9 years ago

All my other ones seem happy so far. Is there something else I should be using?

• RioSeven
    9 years ago

I don't think Miracle Grow would make the plant drop leaves, especially in such a short time. But many people don't like MG for a lot of other reasons like root health, drainage, etc...

I remember when I got my croton it was very slow growing and in my research I did read that it does take them a few months to get used to a new home and often they will drop some, sometimes all, their leaves. Mine dropped only one but it was strange because the leaf that dropped was totally normal and the plant was healthy. Hopefully there is a croton expert out there that can tell us.

As for the soil, if you google Al's 5-1-1 you will see tons of info on why most bagged soil from the store sucks, the problems they cause, and what you can do about it.

• jenliz
    Original Author
    9 years ago