Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
avenger619

Unsure palm type, but turning brown. Help!

avenger619
11 years ago

Hi guys,

Newbie here, I could sure use the help.

For starters I am not even sure what exactly type of palm tree I have, but I been researching online on similar looking ones and am stumped by the inconsistent info. Some say too much water others not enough, so I don't know what to do.

I purchased this plant about 3 months ago and it was tall and dark green, very strong and beautiful and now it seems like its slowly drying and browning, I fear I will loose all the leafs.

What I done so far: I water it about one's a week, take it out side and soak it good and let it sit till drains. about a week ago I purchased Palm fertilizer to see if this helps but I think its to soon to see a counter act. I purchased an electric soil tester and try to keep the needle at green under ideal mark.

I have already cut 3 medium size leafs due to browning, and one of the Large ones is starting go. please help

Comments (5)

• gregplantaine7
    11 years ago

It looks like a Majesty palm to me.
    Most types of palms like fairly high humidity so the plant may currently be in shock, so I would recommend daily misting along with using a humidifier.
    Also, how much light is it getting and is it next to any heat or air vent or any type of drafty area?
    Do Not use fertilizer in winter. You want the plant to go dormant this time of year.
    It may also be naturally shedding its fronds.

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    11 years ago

It need lots of light and i agree, it is in shock!!