Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New houseplants not labelled in store :(

Posted by jszymborski WI (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 4, 10 at 17:35

I have a really fantastic local nursery that sells starter houseplants for about $3 each -- they survive, some thrive -- they're great. However, they're all merely labelled "house plant" in-store. I've gotten some rather unsatisfactory advice as to what they might be from other areas on the internet, but I thought this might be the most direct.

Above the picture I have listed what I think they MIGHT be. I'm also fairly new to houseplants -- any advice would be appreciated. I love my indoor garden!

#1. Almost positive that this is a gold dust dracena.
Photobucket

#2. Parlor palm? Butterfly palm? Something else?
Photobucket

#3. Variegated hoya plant, or hoya Krimson Queen? And what's the difference? This one hasn't done much.
Photobucket

#4. Not a clue.
Photobucket

#5. Again, not a clue, but I love this one.
Photobucket

So, what do I have?! Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New houseplants not labelled in store :(

1. Gold Dust Dracaena

2. Your palm does resemble a Parlor palm (Chamaedorea elegans) but sometimes it's hard to tell palm ids when small.

3.Hoya carnosa "Krimson Queen" is a variegated hoya...

Pilea (Moon Valley)

Looks like, Hedera helix ivy

Billy Rae

o

Thanks! Guess I misinterpreted the term "variegated hoya." Any suggestions on special care? I'm wondering if my pots are the proper size to encourage growth.

o

I can only tell you how I take care of the ones I have, or had...

The palm does well in bright indirect light/dapple light, and a little sun before going down is ok too. Keep the soil on the moist side at all times, not soggy wet. Mine gets watered once a week, sometimes I can skip a few days more, or even a week more if the top feels moist enough.