Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
norton_newbie

Please help ID plants

norton_newbie
13 years ago

Have a toddler around and want to make sure they aren't toxic. Your help is appreciated.

{{gwi:113567}}

{{gwi:113568}}

{{gwi:113569}}

{{gwi:113570}}

Comments (13)

• kim_b_2010
    13 years ago

I am NO expert, but I'm pretty sure #4 is a Pothos. Looks like a Golden Pothos. I have no idea on the others. They all look familiar, but I'm terrible with names. :)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

#3 is Pachira aquatica, "Money Tree," "Malabar Chestnut" - not toxic.

Kim, I think you're correct on the Pothos. I can't recall if it's toxic.

Josh

• karate626
    13 years ago

I think number 2 could be an asparagus fern. Not sure of toxicity. Number 1 is some sort of Dracenea.

TJ

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    13 years ago

You need to get rid of the pothos and the asparagus fern.

• plantmasterm
    13 years ago

excuse me but how can anyone tell someone else what they need to get rid of, could be thats the few plants that they're having any luck with..some opinions need to be left to yourselves

• kim_b_2010
    13 years ago

According to the ASPCA, the Pothos is toxic to both cats and dogs (see link below). However, I have both. The dog couldn't care less, but my cat has taken a few nibbles and is still as fat and happy as ever. If you have an animal that is staying away from it for the most part, I wouldn't worry about it too much. Though, it does look like it could use a haircut and a re-pot. :)

Here is a link that might be useful: ASPCA

13 years ago

Plantmasterm, did you bother reading the first line in this Thread?

"Have a toddler around and want to make sure they aren't toxic"

Thus the recommendation to get rid of the toxic plant.

Josh

• kim_b_2010
    13 years ago

Whoops! I guess I didn't read the top line, either! I have my bad cat on the brian!