Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please help ID plants

Posted by norton_newbie (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 30, 10 at 18:11

Have a toddler around and want to make sure they aren't toxic. Your help is appreciated.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please help ID plants

I am NO expert, but I'm pretty sure #4 is a Pothos. Looks like a Golden Pothos. I have no idea on the others. They all look familiar, but I'm terrible with names. :)

o

#3 is Pachira aquatica, "Money Tree," "Malabar Chestnut" - not toxic.

Kim, I think you're correct on the Pothos. I can't recall if it's toxic.

Josh

o

I think number 2 could be an asparagus fern. Not sure of toxicity. Number 1 is some sort of Dracenea.

TJ

o

You need to get rid of the pothos and the asparagus fern.

o

excuse me but how can anyone tell someone else what they need to get rid of, could be thats the few plants that they're having any luck with..some opinions need to be left to yourselves

o

According to the ASPCA, the Pothos is toxic to both cats and dogs (see link below). However, I have both. The dog couldn't care less, but my cat has taken a few nibbles and is still as fat and happy as ever. If you have an animal that is staying away from it for the most part, I wouldn't worry about it too much. Though, it does look like it could use a haircut and a re-pot. :)

Here is a link that might be useful: ASPCA

o

Plantmasterm, did you bother reading the first line in this Thread?

"Have a toddler around and want to make sure they aren't toxic"

Thus the recommendation to get rid of the toxic plant.

Josh

o

Whoops! I guess I didn't read the top line, either! I have my bad cat on the brian!

I did some searching and I can't find anything that states that Pothos are toxic to humans. They are on some toxic plant lists, but the lists I found them on were not specific to humans and we know they are toxic to cats and dogs. I would just put it up out of reach.