Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Soil Questions - Charcoal?

Posted by raelynn09 5b MI (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 1, 12 at 19:06

Been lurking for months, and I want to first say - I'm so glad I discovered gardenweb! I've been working as a cashier at a local garden center for almost two years now, When I was hired I knew very very little about gardening (okay, that's an understatement). I'm certainly not a pro yet, but with help from my coworkers and you guys I've learned quite a bit!
One of the most helpful things I have learned is the importance of a healthy soil. I've read nearly every post tapla has made - and boy I appreciate his info!
I live in a tiny apartment with no balcony, and only three west facing windows that are mostly blocked by large trees. I thought houseplants would be impossible, but to my surprise I've been able to keep quite a few plants alive! (maybe not thriving - but alive nonetheless! :)

Anyways, I've had a few people ask about the benefits (if any) of using charcoal in a soil for houseplants. I know it's often an ingredient in commercially sold bonsai and orchid soil mixes - could other houseplants benefit from it?
And what exactly would be the differences between charcoal and activated charcoal?

Also, I've had trouble getting some ingredients, so this is what I did in a pinch- and it seems pretty good. what do you think? Is there anything I should switch up next time?
1/3 Hoffman's bonsai soil (turface, pine bark, haydite)
1/3 Orchid mix (thrown in a processor to break the bark to 1/4" pieces and smaller)
1/3 perlite
and a small handful or vermiculite- I really don't know why I added that though.

I have 3 draceanas, a jade, 2 philodendron, pothos and sansevierias planted in this mix and they seem to like it, or atleast tolerate it. I've had one draceana