Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
birdsnblooms

What is the average, (days/weeks) TC 'flowers' live?

birdsnblooms
11 years ago

Getting TC's/Thanksgiving Cactus to bloom isn't a problem, but keeping flowers alive more than 4-5 days is an issue.

Does anyone know the length of time TC blooms should live?

Actually, my TC flowers barely make it 4-5 days.. Is 4 days too short or average?
If so, what can be done to prolong bloom time before flowers fade away?

How many days/weeks, do your TC blooms last?

Thanks, Toni

Comments (14)

• wendync
    11 years ago

I would also like to know.

I'm a TC newbie, but on mine I have observed that the flowers look pretty and formed and full for about 2.5 days, after that, they are still 'pretty', but they start wilting and drooping a bit and lose their shape until they look spent, maybe another 2-4 days later.

This post was edited by wendync on Sun, Dec 9, 12 at 12:09

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    11 years ago

2 - 5 days depending on temperature and humidity, I'd wager.

Josh

• birdsnblooms
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Wendy, thanks..So, fading TC flowers do well 4-5 days...
    What made me curious is, TC's sold in stores seem to continue blooming a week or longer.

On the bottom of your post it says, 'This post was edited by Wendy, blah blah.' Did you write it or is it another GW feature?

Hey Josh..long time no see. Where have you been hiding?

How's your true Christmas Cactus? Has it started budding/flowering?
    I remember seeing a pic on another thread/forum, but no buds. I believe CC bloom later than TC????

• meyermike_1micha
    11 years ago

Hi Toni! All that wait, just to see our flowers spent within 5 days?lol

Mine are ina cool, moist room, and still after 5 days, they are goners..I guess you can say they last longer than those one day blooming varieties..lol

By the way, editing is a new feature!