Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neil1967

satin pothos problems

neil1967
13 years ago

Hello,

I just found out through these forums that I have a satin pothos houseplant. I keep it reasonably well watered, in a bright spot with only late afternoon direct sun. That said, it is growing really long trailers with smaller and smaller leaves. It basically looks like mostly stems. Also, many of the leaves have brown tips with yellowing. I am not an expert and so am wondering how to get it to have more leaves that look healthier and to actually be a happier plant...any help for a novice houseplant guy would be great.

Thanks!

Neil

Comments (5)

• birdsnblooms
    13 years ago

Neil, Satin pothos, 'Scindapsis pictus,' (is that the plant you mean?) needs humidity.
    At a local greenhouse, they keep their SP's in a shady spot, but the area is semi-cool, with super-high humidity. The leaves are huge, thier SP's do beautiful. But, it's a gh, so their shade isn't like a normal household.

However indoors, they do best in bright light. Also, don't keep soil constantly wet or moist. Soil should dry before rewatering.
    Spray leaves/shower and increase humidity in your home.
    I'd bet the brown ends are caused by dry air, and yellow is from constantly wet soil.

One thing you can do is take cuttings. Root. When cuttings grow roots, add with mom. The mom plant will continue growing.
    In winter, many vine plants grow spindly..that's one reason I believe pinching ends in beneficial. This should be done when a vine is young, and continued every other month. Plants grow more compact when pinched.

Trim brown edges but leave about 1/8th of the brown on.. If you cut in the green, it could continue browning.
    But to be honest, the leaves that have yellow are 'most likely dead. Sorry. Good luck, Toni

• neil1967
    Original Author
    13 years ago