Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tifflj_gw

Experiment

tifflj
11 years ago

This brown tip peace lily is aggravating me. I know I am watering properly so in thinking it might be the water quality, I am going to try a different type of water. Any suggestions? My family has a habit of drinking half a bottle of water and not finishing it, aquafina, figured i would bottle those up and use that for a while and see where that gets me. I also moved it on the dresser with the grow bulb. I am beside myself with why this is happening.

I would run the humidifier but the plants are in Jakes room and he will mess with the humidifer. I could run it night though and that is my next course of action if i dont see results with the water.

Just dont know what else to do. Not having issues with any other plant.

Comments (11)

• Lamora
    11 years ago

I am not an expert, by any means, but my Spider Plant has the same problem, hates tap water. Distilled was getting out of hand~~ soooo, I went and got a small water filter, that has it's own picher,1/4 gal (just to see). Takes some to get a gallon, but for me it is worth it. Ma-ma Spider Plant loves it and I water most my plants with it. And I am not spending a lot of money on distilled water.

Just a suggestion is all~~ :) I'm sure there are more to come.
    Marjie

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

Aquafina is a product of Pepsico. It is tap water that is supposedly filtered, so if that is true, impurities such as fluoride, lime, and chlorine/chloramine would be removed. That's good.

Some plants are more fussy about this, no doubt, peace lily, spider, Dracaena...

Has distilled gotten more expensive? I thought it was well under $1 per gallon, but haven't bought any in years... thinking about getting some for these darn Dracs.

• nicoblue74
    11 years ago