Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ed1315

Christmas Catus

ed1315
10 years ago

My negleted little Christmas Catus put on quite a show this year. I rearly water it, but when I saw the buds forming, I gave it a good soaking!

Comments (48)

• pinkgnome412
    10 years ago

That's gorgeous!!! What are your secrets? Where do you have it sitting? I just bought this big monster of a thing from my grocery store this year after suffering gardening withdrawal. I'm new to these things so any tips would be wonderful! Yours looks so healthy!

• ed1315
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I very seldom water it. usually it is dry as a bone! It stays in a inclosed porch (sometimes just above freezing) with windows facing south.

• pirate_girl
    10 years ago

Just so you know, while your flowers are gorgeous, these are tropical jungle cactus (not arid land or desert cactus), they need water frequently & a fair amount at that.

I grew up where they originate, this time of year they get frequent rain, even some torrential rains now (covered right now in international newspapers).

Am surprised they even set bud w/ so little water.

FYI, the recommendation to withhold watering them for a month is for AFTER the bloom, not before.

If you were to water them regularly, they might put on twice the flower show for ya (not that we could stand that much MORE beauty, but still).

Pinkgnome: pls take the foil off ASAP, or they won't drain right & have trouble.

• ed1315
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Pirate Girl, I agree that I should water more often. I guess I am just too lazy but sometimes I get lucky ;>)

• garyfla_gw
    10 years ago

Pirate girl
    Where do they originate from. Saw some in lowland Costa Rica growing in a tree . Couldn't get close to them due to water but must have been some kind of cactus
    made me wonder about the 12 hour darkness rule as obviously Costa Rica daylength would be the same year around what would vary considerably at least in the area