Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marricgardens

New plants, advice needed

marricgardens
11 years ago

I went and bought 3 plants from the reduced table of HD. I think when plants quit flowering, they get shoved off onto this table and not really get looked after. The first one had finished flowering and I got it at half price. Since it was sending up pups I didn't think that was to bad. There were 2 on the table and now I'm kicking myself for not taking them both. This wasn't labeled but it looked like the Guzmania that were flowering. Since the flower is over, should I cut it off or let it die down naturally? What type of soil is best for these?

{{gwi:116558}}

This one I believe to be some kind of sansevaria? I have never seen this type of coloration on them before.
{{gwi:116559}}

Any advice on either of these? Marg

Comments (5)

• tifflj
    11 years ago

I dont have any advice as Im a newbie... But i LOVE your floors!!

Tiff

• nicoblue74
    11 years ago

Hello and I must admit I was eyeballing the same bromeliads yesterdau at Lowes. I do not have a ton of experience with these, but I used to work at the Lowes garden center. As I understand it your main plant will die back and the pups will take over. Not sure beyond that on the best care. I believe you need to be careful with the watering as they are susceptible to root rot and will quickly die. They also need a high humidity.

I have the same sanseveria plant that you have. It is a pretty one. I bought it this past spring and have kept it in a small pot. It has grown so much with little care. It seems sans like root bound conditions and require minimal watering. Congratulations on your new plants!

• marricgardens
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I saw some videos on You Tube about Bromelaids. Some things I learned were:
    - don't let the soil dry out completely
    - fertilize in smaller doses. I'm wondering about slow release fertilizer?