Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's happening to my pineapple?

Posted by jdixiem none (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 8, 13 at 17:18

I planted a pineapple top about a year ago, and it's been doing great since then until the last few days. The leaves are turning yellow and brown and seem to be dying off. It's planted in a clay pot in very fast draining soil (I forget the mixture, but it's part cactus mix). I water it thoroughly whenever it's dry and I have never fertilized it. It's quite special to me as it sparked my interest in indoor gardening and my plant collection has grown extensively since then. I really don't want it to die. Any suggestions?

(It's my first time posting on here, so I'm not sure if the picture will work. Sorry :( )

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's happening to my pineapple?

hi
Looks like WAYY to much water lol Pineapples are incredibly easy to grow except for two things too much water and lack of light . Let it dry out completely
They store water in their leaves . I've grown them completely epiphyticly with no media at all. Only ones I've ever killed were too much water gary

o

Yes, that potting mix is way too heavy and holding far too much moisture. You need a fast-draining mix with little organic material. Chances are, the roots are rotting.

Josh

o

What do you reccomend I replant it in?

o

I recommend a porous, fast-draining mix.
What sort of resources do you have at your disposal?

If you're limited to Home Depot type stores, then you could buy an "Orchid Mix" to start, and then add something to it depending upon how fine the mix is. During the Winter, you want a mix that dries out in 4 - 6 days, tops.

Josh

o