Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indiana_tom

Questions about liquid fertilizer use on foliage plants.

indiana_tom
9 years ago

Hello everyone, I am new to houseplants and am learning as I go. I purchased 2 philodendrons and a pothos about 6 weeks ago and they seem to be doing fine. I just repotted the philodendrons into small butter tubs that fit nicely into porcelain planter cache pots that I had. Just for background, I used a 5-1-1 media mix using coir. I purchased some Dyna-Gro Folage-Pro 9-3-6 and am trying to figure out the correct amount to use.

Because of new root growth on the plants that were re-potted, I am not going to start fertilizing them for about 3 week yet. But I was going to start using fertilizer on the pothos now.

The fertilizer container instructions say "for Maintenance, use 1/4 tsp to a gallon of water." Am I correct in thinking that I should always use half of what the instructions say which would be 1/8 tsp per gallon of water?

Sorry I dragged this out so much but I figured a little background would be helpful.

Thanks Tom

Comments (5)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

If you're flushing the soil each time you water, you should be able to use 1/4 tsp 9-3-6 per gallon at every watering - unless you would consider your light levels to be quite low, in which case you might try 1/4 tsp/gallon at every other watering. If you're NOT flushing the soil when you water, we'd need to rethink the whole thing.

Al

• indiana_tom
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the quick reply tapla. I read your posting on 5-1-1 soilless media and learned a lot from it. I decided to try the coir rather than the pine bark fines since it should last longer and it is less acidic (I think).