Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pennywise708

Miniature Date Palm Help

pennywise708
13 years ago

Hello. I am new at the hobby of houseplants and plan to continue this exciting craft! About two months ago I purchased a Miniature Date Palm at a Home Depot. Initially it was pretty strong looking but recently it has begun to droop heavily and has several brown spots at the end of the leaves. After I first noticed when the plant started to degrade, I varied the watering schedule to every other day. This didn't help (and may have worsened the problem) The plant currently faces the south window. The humidity in the house is around 30-40% (single humidifier) and the plant has been getting overcast days. Saving this plant would save a small part of my soul :) Please help!

Comments (8)

• subtropix
    13 years ago

Something is wrong with you soil moisture. It may be excessive or inadequate watering. Sometimes the palms from the big box stores are planted in soil soooo porous that it holds NO water--the water will just run through the pot and the soil is actually DRY. As a general rule of thumb, when you do water a plant, make sure to water thoroughly. Bring it to the sink or tub if you have to. Then wait until it dries some before watering again. Something is wrong if you have to water every other day at this time of the year and with your cloudy weather. At room temperature, at this time of year and assuming the container size is optimal (neither too BIG or too SMALL), the plant should be good to go for a week or so in cloudy weather. Obviously, if your exposure is southern and it's SUNNY, it may be more frequent. Southern exposures can be notorious hot for unprotected plants that are close to the windows (though they will thrive in full, outdoor sun if acclimated properly). This species of Phoenix (it's a roebellini), is more tropical than others in its family so higher humidity is helpful but the problem most likely begins and ends with soil moisture. Good luck!